View in English:
February 24, 2024 2:21 am

Punjabi Sahitya Academy to honour three with Prof Nirpjit Kaur Gill Memorial Award on Sep 16

The Fact News Service

Ludhiana, September 7

Punjabi Sahitya Academy will honor Dr. Iqbal Kaur Sondh, Dr. Vanita, and Dr. Baljit Kaur with the prestigious Prof Nirpjit Kaur Gill Memorial Award on September 16 at Ramgarhia Girls College, Ludhiana.

The awards will be conferred by Cabinet Minister Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal. Former Vice-Chancellor Of GNDU Dr. SP Singh will preside over the event. Dr. Ramesh Inder Kaur Bal and Ranjodh Singh will be guests of honor.

This information was given by Punjabi Sahitya Academy president Dr. Lakhwinder Singh Johal, Senior Vice President Dr. Shyam Sunder Deepti and General Secretary Dr. Guriqbal Singh.

This award was established in the year 2014 by Prof. Gurbhajan Singh Gill in memory of his wife late Prof. Nirpjit Kaur Gill.

She was a lecturer of Punjabi at Ramgarhia Girls College and died at a young age due to cancer on November 8, 1993. She had made valuable contributions into the field of literature and culture.

General Secretary of Punjabi Sahitya Academy Dr. Guriqbal Singh said that in this award each awardee would be facilitated with a cash prize of Rs 21,000 in addition to a letter of appreciation and a Phulkari.

Stating about the awardees, he said that the awardees Retd Professor of Guru Nanak Dev University, Dr. Iqbal Kaur Sondh who is also a poet and critic. Dr. Vanita, a poet from New Delhi and a professor of Delhi University, whose book ‘Kaal Pehar Te Ghariya’ received the Bhartiya Sahitya Academy Award.

Dr. Baljit Kaur, is a retired professor and head of the Punjabi Department of Guru Nanak Dev University Regional Center, Jalandhar and had made a special identity in the field of Punjabi poetry criticism.

This award is given only to retired university and college teachers, who had made unique contributions in the field of Punjabi teaching, literature and culture. Last year, this award was given to Prof. Tej Kaur Dardi, Dr. Jasbir Kaur Kesar, Dr. Gurnam Kaur Bedi and Dr. Ramesh Inder Kaur Bal.

College Principal Dr. Rajeshwarpal Kaur said that from 1983 to 1993, Prof. Nirpjit Kaur supported this institution under the guidance of Giani Bhagat Singh and the leadership of the then Principal Harmeet Kaur, she made a valuable contribution.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Quick links:
Filmi Galbaat

India News



View in punjabi

Follow Us