View in English:
April 22, 2024 9:45 pm

Mallikarjun Kharge elected Congress president

New Delhi, October 19

Mallikarjun Kharge has won the Congress president polls, counting of which was held in New Delhi today. Kharge has polled around 8000 votes against Shashi Tharoor, who polled about 1000 votes.

Shashi Tharoor wished Kharge on being elected party president on Twitter.

Counting of votes began earlier today at the AICC headquarters here. All sealed ballot boxes from the 68 polling booths set up across the country were brought here by Tuesday evening and kept in a “strong room” at the party office.

Of the total 9,915 Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) delegates that formed the electoral college to pick the party chief in a secret ballot, over 9,500 cast their ballot at PCC offices and the AICC headquarters, Mistry had said at a press conference after the polling ended on Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Quick links:
Filmi Galbaat

India News



View in punjabi

Follow Us