View in English:
March 28, 2023 6:52 am

BJP and AAP file nominations for Chandigarh Mayor polls

Chandigarh, January 12

Like the previous year, this time also the elections for the post of Chandigarh Mayor are going to be very interesting as this time also Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will be face to face for the mayoral post.

Like last time, Congress will not take part in this race. It has been decided by the party not to participate as the Congress has 6 councillors. The BJP and the AAP have 14 seats each in the House. The BJP has one separate vote from Chandigarh MP Kirron Kher.

At the same time, even a single vote of Shiromani Akali Dal can prove to be decisive. According to sources, the SAD councillor can vote for BJP.

For the post of Mayor, 19 votes are required to prove majority. On Thursday, nominations for the post of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Senior Deputy Mayor were filed. BJP nominated Anoop Gupta for the post of Mayor. On the other hand, Kanwarpal Rana and Harjit Singh have been made candidates of Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor respectively.

On the other hand, Aam Aadmi Party has nominated Jasbir Singh Laddi as Mayor, Tarun Mehta as Senior Deputy Mayor and Suman Amit Sharma has been made the candidate for the post of deputy mayor. Elections will be held on January 17 for all three posts.

It is to be noted last time the BJP had occupied all the three posts of Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Quick links:
Filmi Galbaat

India News



View in punjabi

Follow Us