View in English:
February 25, 2024 4:19 pm

56th Annual Athletic meet kicks off at PAU amidst great fanfare

The Fact News Service
Ludhiana, April 21

The 56th Annual Athletic Meet kicked off at the Punjab Agricultural University (PAU) amidst great fanfare today. Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer, Minister of Sports and Youth Services as well as Science and Technology, Punjab, formally inaugurated the athletic meet by unfurling the flag and releasing the colourful balloons. Dr Satbir Singh Gosal, Vice-Chancellor, PAU, presided over the event. Unmindful of the hot weather, the students from the constituent colleges and outstation institutes of PAU participated with full vitality and vigour in various sports events.

 Extolling PAU for rendering yeoman’s service to the agricultural development of Punjab and India through the heralding of Green Revolution, the chief guest Hayer stated: “This is the first agricultural varsity of India which has produced three Olympians who have made a mark as Indian Hockey Team Captains, namely Charanjit Singh, Pritipal Singh and Ramandeep Singh Grewal. PAU must install the statues of these great sportspersons in the University.” “Making the vibrant, cheerful and high-spirited state as Rangla Punjab is our major motive,” he stated, while giving a call for scientific (agriculture) and energy (sports) channelization of youths in the suitable and right directions. The Sports Minister lamented the decline in sports activities in the State since 2001, and told that the Punjab government was focusing on reviving sports culture in the state. Being a sports enthusiast, he shared: “Wherever I get time from my hectic schedule, I play cricket, badminton or go to gym in the evening.” Asking the participating students of the March Past whether they were feeling the heat of the sweltering summer and some students replying yes to the question, the Minister said: “If you feel the heat, then you cannot play games and exercise.” He advised them to develop stamina and have robust body by exercising regularly, and participating in different games and sports. Hayer assured PAU of full support in strengthening the sports infrastructure at PAU, if needed.

 In his presidential remarks, Dr Gosal remarked that this University, which has completed 60 years and has entered Diamond Jubilee year, has been a beacon-light for the budding youths in terms of radiating knowledge, moulding their characters and imbuing self-confidence in them through high standards of education and world-class infrastructure of sports. Calling the young Sports Minister Hayer as a role model for the youths, Dr Gosal urged the students to develop passion for sports for it leads to strong physical as well as positive mental health.

Earlier, in his welcome remarks, Dr Nirmal Jaura, Director Students’ Welfare, informed that the sportspersons of this University have clinched numerous medals at the state and the national sports tournaments. Lauding the Punjab government for the success of the Punjab Khed Mela in 2022, Dr Jaura disclosed that the event witnessed the massive participation of 3.5 lakh Punjabis ranging from the age groups of 6 or 7 years to 90 years.
 Vishal Bector, Incharge, Industrial Linkages, conducted the programme.
On the occasion, retired coaches, namely Kirpal Singh Kahlon, Ex-Deputy Director (Physical Education); Gurcharan Singh Brar, Ex- Volleyball coach; Harinder Singh Bhullar, Ex-Assistant Director (Physical Education); and Harbhajan Singh Grewal, Ex-Athletic coach were honoured for their signifacnt contributions to the field of sports.



High Jump: 1) Harwinder Singh, 2) Ajayveer Singh Sohi, 3) Gurjot Singh Bhatti

Triple Jump: 1) Sahil, 2) Harwinder Singh, 3) Arshdeep Singh

110 m Hurdle race: 1) Arshdeep Singh, 2) Ramesh, 3) Harwinder Singh

400 m Hurdle race: 1) Arshdeep Singh, 2) Ramesh, 3) Harwinder Singh

5000 m race: 1) Jasandeep Singh Sandhu, 2) Vaasudev, 3) Anuj Sharma

Javelin Throw: 1) Anmol Bishnoi, 2) Paramvir Singh, 3) Harjodh Singh

Discus Throw: 1 Ajitesh Singh Chahal, 2) Rishav, 3) Taranveer Singh

Long Jump: 1) Arshdeep Singh, 2) Ramesh, 3) Sahil

100 m race: 1) Harshaan Singh, 2) Arshdeep Singh, 3) Ramneet Singh

1500 m final race: 1) Jasandeep Singh Sandhu, 2) Vaasudev, 3) Anuj Sharma


1500 m race: 1) Harmeet Kaur, 2) Parteek Kaur, 3) Anita

Javelin Throw: 1) Sushil Grewal, 2) Akem Kaur Waraich, 3) Divya Gupta

High Jump: 1) Harleen Kaur, 2) Muskan Sharma, 3) Amandeep Kaur Sekhon

Shot Put: 1) Jasleen Kaur, 2) Harleen Kaur, 3) Jasnoor Tiwana

100 m race: 1)Harleen kaur, 2) Haritha M., 3) Chetna Devi

800 m race: 1) Harmeet Kaur, 2) Parteek Kaur, 3) Arundhati Dogra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Quick links:
Filmi Galbaat

India News



View in punjabi

Follow Us