Punjab to meet Himachal in Rama Atray Trophy final

The Fact News Service
Chandigarh, October 12

Punjab Cricket Association steam-rolled Chandigarh Union Territory Cricket Association by nine wickets in their last league match of the 4th Rama Atray Memorial One-Day Limited Overs Cricket Tournament for Women at Tau Devi Lal Cricket Stadium, Panchkula.

Winning the toss and opting to bat first, Chandigarh opened with Divya Sharma and Muskan. They were reduced to 1 for 5 in 3.2 overs when Muskan was trapped in front by Palwinder for 01 off 12 balls. Simranjeet Kaur was next to go being run out by Ridhima Aggarwal.

Thereafter skipper Amanjot Kaur and Divya Sharma put on 41 runs for the 3rd wicket before Amanjot Kaur was trapped in front by Sunita Rani for 31 off 31 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries.

Divya Sharma was next to go being caught by Manpreet Kaur off Sunita Rani for 36 off 81 balls. UTCA were finally bowled out for 136 in 49 overs. Palwinder (4 for 19) and Sunita Rani (3 for 21) were the principal wicket takers for Punjab.

Replying, Punjab opened with Priyanka Malik and Ridhima Aggarwal. Priyanaka Malik made an early exit as she was caught by Amanjot Kaur off Kumari Shibi for 05.

Thereafter Ridhima Aggarwal and Parveen Khan put on 104 runs for the second wicket before Ridhima Aggarwal retired hurt after scoring a fruitful 55 off 87 balls with 5 boundaries.

Parveen Khan left soon after with a bout of cramps for 43 off 92 balls with 2 boundaries. Kanika unbeaten 12 off 7 balls with 2 boundaries and Neetu Singh unbeaten 16 off 12 balls with 3 boundaries took the team’s total to 137 for 01 for the team to record a nine-wicket win and move into the finals.

Palwinder of Punjab for her brilliant bowling performance was named player of the match.

In the second match played at GMSSS Sector 26, Himachal made short work of JKCA by dismissing them for 73 in 42.3 overs.

Winning the toss and elected to field Himachal bowlers kept on making steady inroads into the JKCA citadel. Sapna Jhamwal 14, Ashraf 11 were the only two batters to enter the double figures. Extras with 28 was the highest scorer. For HPCA Prachi Chauhan (3 for 18), Preeti Kahlon (2 for 6) and Yamuna Rana (2 for 16) were the most successful bowlers.

Replying, HPCA opened with Kashish Verma and Chitra Singh who put on 74 runs for the unbroken opening stand to record a 10 wicket win for Himachal. Chitra Singh for her unbeaten knock was named the player of the match.

The final of 50 overs will be played at Cricket Stadium Sector 16 Chandigarh between Punjab and Himachal starting for 9.00 a.m.

More from this section