Punjab & Region

HPCA annex 26th All India JP Atray Memorial Cricket Tournament for Trident Cup

The Fact News Service
Mohali, September 13

Early morning continued drizzle in Mohali almost shelved the chances of any play in the 50 overs final match between HPCA and Ranstar Cricket Club Delhi but the tremendous work put up by PCA Ground Staff made a 20 – 20 overs game possible in the afternoon when rain had relented after its morning fury. Ranstar Cricket Club won the toss and opted to field hoping to take advantage of any moisture that the wicket may have got because of continuous rain but their decision boomeranged as HPCA’s opening batsman skipper Prashant Chopra and Shubham Negi put on 84 runs for the first wicket in 11.2 overs before Shubham Negi was stumped by Puneet Bisht off Rahul Chaudhary for 35 off 36 balls inclusive of 5 boundaries.

Thereafter, Pranshant Chopra in company of Ekant Sen added 40 runs for the second wicket before Ekant Sen was caught by Chetanya Bishnoi off Rahul Chaudhary for 20 off 15 balls inclusive of one boundary and one six. Prashant Chopra was the 3rd man out when he was caught by Pradeep Malik off Pradeep Prashar for a breezy 72 off 48 balls embellished with 5 boundaries and four lofty sixes. HPCA scored 175 for 3 in 20 overs. For Ranstar Cricket club Delhi Rahul Chaudhary 2 for 24 was the most successful bowler.

Replying, Ranstar lost their opener Chetnya Bishnoi on the 3rd ball of the first over without any score on the board when he was caught by Shubham Negi off Naveen Kanwar. Pradeep Malik 26 off 11 balls with 3 boundaries and two sixes and Sumit Verma 36 off 28 balls with one boundary and two sixes were the main contributors with the bat for Ranstar Cricket Club. Ranstar were bundled out for 100 in 15.2 overs to leave HPCA winners by 75 runs and win the trophy. For HPCA Naveen Kanwar 3 for 15, Ayush Jhamwal 3 for 28 and Vipen Sharma 2 for 21 were the most successful wicket takers. Naveen Kanwar of HPCA was named TRIDENT man of the match and was awarded by O.P. Soni, Cabinet Minister, Punjab who was the Chief Guest.

HPCA won the TRIDENT CUP and also got the cash prize of Rs. 2.00 lacs while Ranstar Cricket Club Delhi got the TRIDENT RUNNERS UP CUP and the cash prize of Rs. 1.00 lac. Nehal Wadhera of PCC got the best batsman of the tournament award, while the best bowler of the tournament award was claimed by Akash Vashisht of HPCA and Sunil Sharma Best All-rounder award was won by Captain of HPCA Prashant Chopra. The awards were presented by O.P. Soni, Chander Shekher and Vivek Atray at a glittering closing ceremony. The flood lights had to be used at PCA Stadium for completion of the 20-20 over match. O.P. Soni, Cabinet Minister Punjab announced a grant of Rs.5.00 lacs for the conduct of the tournament.

Capt. Sushil Kapoor Organising Secretary thanked the PCA Administration, the director Sports U.T. Chandigarh, Trident Foundation, Milk Food and the management of Alnati for providing Mineral water during the entire tournament and the management of Piccadilly for hosting the Press conference and all volunteers for their unstinted support.

More from this section