Punjab & Region

Divisional Commission Ferozepur reviews preparedness for 2022 Assembly elections

The Fact News Service
Ferozepur, November 23

Divisional Commissioner Daljit Singh Mangat hold a special meeting with all the political parties of the district and the election officials to review the preparation for proper, safe, free, uninterrupted, smooth and transparent conduct of the coming 2022 Assembly elections. Apart from this he also reviewed the modification of the voters list, removal of deceased voters and logical errors from the voter’s list and Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) activities in the district.

Addressing the meeting of all political parties leaders and officials, Divisional Commissioner Daljit Singh Mangat said it is necessary that eligible voters must be included in the voter’s list especially the new voters. He said that a special campaign should be launched at every village, ward and booth level to make every voter a part of the voter list. He said to bring awareness about votes in the electorate with maximum contribution SVEEP activities. He also asked all the political parties to appoint booth-level agents of their party at each polling station and to send the revised voter lists and new voter lists to the office to support the BLOs.

Divisional Commissioner Daljit Singh Mangat further said that there is also a need to update the vote of newly wedded girls and also emphasize the youths of 18 years old to register as voters.

During the meeting Deputy Commissioner, Davinder Singh said that the students who could not come here to cast their vote due to their study abroad could apply online at nvsp.in the web portal. He also appealed to the voters to download the Voter Helpline app to get involved in the election process. Taking strong exception to the complaint by leaders of political parties, of non-joining of certain BLOs, he ordered to take strict action against them.

Disclosing this here today Election Tehsildar Chand Prakash said that there is a total of 902 polling stations in the district including Ferozepur Urban / Rural, Zira and Guruharsahai out of which 865 are already existing and 37 new polling stations have been set up.