Punjab & Region

District Election Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner inspects FLC of EVMs and VVPATs

The Fact News Service
Mohali, October 12

On the directives of the Election Commission of India (ECI), the district election officer-cum-deputy commissioner Isha Kalia inspected the first-level checking (FLC) of electronic voting machines (EVMs) and the voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) at EVM Warehouse, Industrial Area Phase-7 in the presence of representatives of political parties.

Accompanied by additional deputy commissioner (G) Komal Mittal, the Deputy Commissioner examined the work of the first-level checking of the machines to be used during the upcoming assembly elections next year. She held detailed interaction with the engineers of Bharat Electric Limited (BEL), who have been assigned the duty of preparing these machines. Kalia said that the primary motive of this inspection is to ensure that polling is conducted in a free, fair and transparent manner.

The deputy commissioner said that all these machines would be used by the administration during the 2022 assembly elections and added that the process of thoroughly checking 1764 ballot units, 1284 control units and 1383 VVPATs to be used during the elections would be completed within two weeks. She said that this exercise is the most important work for ensuring the elections in a smooth, hassle free and transparent manner.

The deputy commissioner said that owing to this reason, ECI has decided to hold this exercise much in advance. She said that proper security arrangements along with CCTV/Videography have been ensured during completion of FLC. She said that the district administration has already requested the political parties to send their representatives during these checks to ensure full transparency in the entire work.

Kalia further said that the political parties must take part in this activity because it is very essential for strengthening the ethos of democracy at the grass-root level. She informed that 143 new polling stations were added up in three constituencies of the district, which took the tally to 902 from 759, which were sanctioned by the Election Commission of India.

Prominent amongst others present on the occasion included Election Tehsildar Sanjay Kumar, Political representatives Amardeep Singh of Indian National Congress, Sukhdeep Singh of BSP, Bahadar Singh Chahal of AAP and Amrik of BJP.