Punjab & Region

Congress MLAs and leaders hold silent protest against Lakhimpur incident

The Fact News Service
Ludhiana, October 11

The Congress party led by MLAs Surinder Dawar, Sanjay Talwar and Lakhbir Singh Lakha, Mayor Balkar Singh Sandhu and District Congress Committee (DCC) Rural Karanjit Singh Soni Galib and DCC Urban president Ashwani Sharma held a ‘Maun Vart’ (vow of silence) against Lakhimpur incident and demanding immediate sacking of Union Minister of State for Home Affairs Ajay Mishra Teni besides arrest of all culprits responsible for the killing of innocent people including four farmers.

They accused NDA government for adopting insensitive attitude towards farming community and lashed out at Prime Minister Narendra Modi for not uttering a single word over Lakhimpur massacre.  They said that the BJP led NDA government has not even spoken to the families of victims killed into this incident and said that justice can be assured only when Minister of State for Home Affairs Ajay Mishra Teni sacked.

Prominent among present MLA Kuldeep Singh’s son Harkaran Vaid, Capt Sandeep Sandhuji’s son Prabhmeh Sandhu, Mahila congress president urban Leena Tapariaji, Mahila congress president rural Gurdeep Kaur and all party members and block presidents attended the protest.

More from this section